REVIEW! FINDING GABRIEL by @RachelLDemeter

BLURB 

Colonel Gabriel de Laurent departed for the war intending to die.

After a decade of bloodstained battlegrounds while fighting in Napoleon’s army, Gabriel returns to the streets of Paris a shattered and haunted soul. Plagued by inner demons, he swallows the barrel of his flintlock pistol and pulls the trigger.

But fate has a different plan.


Ariah Larochelle is a survivor. Orphaned at twelve and victim to a devastating crime, she has learned to keep her back to walls and to trust no one. But when she finds a gravely injured soldier washed up on the River Seine, she’s moved by compassion. In spite of her reservations, she rescues him from the icy water and brings him into her home.


Now scarred inside and out, Gabriel discovers a kindred spirit in Ariah—and feelings he imagined lost forever reawaken as he observes her strength in the face of adversity. But when Ariah’s own lethal secrets unfold, their new love is threatened by ancient ghosts. Can Gabriel and Ariah find hope in the wreckage of their pasts—or will the cycle of history repeat again?


Perfect for fans of Gaelen Foley’s Lord of Ice and Judith James’s Broken WingFinding Gabriel features all the dark romance, searing passion, and historical intrigue of The Phantom of the Opera and Les Misérables.



 https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25659511-finding-gabriel


REVIEW

Rachel Demeter has delivered another captivating novel!

I was immediately drawn in by the distraught hero, Gabriel, and his desperate attempt to escape his tortured life.  Enter Ariah, the heroine, and I was hooked! Both characters are introduced with a resounding sadness, which makes it hard not to pull for their happiness.  The tug of war involving emotions progresses in an interesting manner, and the bonds that form are beautiful.  

The secondary characters help make the story whole, and the writing is exquisite.  Setting is brought to life with extraordinary talent, and the sensual scenes are breathtaking.  I was heartbroken as Ariah suffered a not-so-unusual mistreatment during the era, and on pins and needles as the lovers face an expected obstacle.  

I couldn’t put this down, but I’ve come to expect greatness from this author.  She never disappoints!

An extraordinary Historical Fiction that I highly recommend! 
*PTSD, suicide/suicidal tendencies, violence, and sex make this content for Adults Only*



 BOOK TRAILER

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
I live in the beautiful hills of Anaheim, California with Teddy, my goofy lowland sheepdog, and high school sweetheart of eleven years. I enjoy writing dark, poignant romances that challenge the reader’s emotions and explore the redeeming power of love.

Imagining dynamic worlds and characters has been my passion for longer than I can remember. Before learning how to read or write, I would dictate stories while my mom would jot them down for me. I hold a special affinity for the tortured hero and unconventional romances. Whether crafting the protagonist or antagonist, I ensure every character is given a soul.

I endeavor to defy conventions by blending elements of romance, suspense, and horror. Some themes my stories never stray too far from: forbidden romance, soul mates, the power of love to redeem, mend all wounds, and triumph over darkness.

My dream is to move readers and leave an emotional impact through my words. ♥

Don’t be a stranger! I absolutely love to connect and interact:  

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s